Skip to content

Change

February 2, 2012

Still, My Soul, Be Still

Still, my soul, be still and do not fear though winds of change may rage tomorrow.
God is at your side no longer dread the fires of unexpected sorrow.

God, You are my God, and I will trust in You and not be shaken.
Lord of peace, renew a steadfast spirit within me to rest in you alone.

Still, my soul, be still; do not be moved by lesser lights and fleeting shadows.
Hold on to His ways, with shield of faith against temptation’s flaming arrows.

God, You are my God, and I will trust in You and not be shaken.
Lord of peace, renew a steadfast spirit within me to rest in you alone.

Still, my soul, be still; do not forsake the truth you learned in the beginning.
Wait upon the Lord, and hope will rise as stars appear when day is dimming.

God, You are my God, and I will trust in You and not be shaken.
Lord of peace, renew a steadfast spirit within me to rest in you alone.

We sang that at church this past weekend, and it really hit home for me. My world has been rocked in the last few years. I moved internationally, quit my job, struggled with unemployment, got married and divorced. There’s been a lot of unknown, a lot of change, and a lot of fear. I recently learned of a rumor at the company where I work – which has since mutated into several rumors – that change is coming. It may look like layoffs (the original rumor), or enormous changes to the way business is conducted on a daily basis, or pay cuts, or a lot of things. I don’t know what the next few months hold for me, and that’s scary.

But I keep going back to one thing: God has always taken care of me.

I know He’ll take care of me through whatever the coming months bring too, even if it’s scary.

It’s hard to quiet your soul, hard to be still. For me, I keep clinging to a realization that I had shortly after the divorce. I have spent a lot of my life being unhappy, and it took one of the worst things I could have imagined happening (the man who vowed to love and cherish me leaving for another woman) for me to open my eyes and see that fact, and to then do something about it. I never would have expected a divorce to be the ultimate catalyst for healing and restoration in my life, but it was. God used it that way.

So if He can take me through the worst relationship experience that I could imagine, and leave me in a better place because of it?

Then I can trust that He can take me through the worst case scenario job situation, and leave me in a better place because of it too.

I don’t know what the future holds; I don’t know what change is coming, or how it will look. But I know that a Truth that will never change, and so I cling to that.

Still, my soul, be still.

No comments yet

Comments are like crack, and friends enable friends.

