Skip to content

Pushing Myself

January 7, 2012

So far, I’m finding 2012 to be a year of pushing myself. This is a good thing, I think.

I’ve signed up for an 8K in March – my first ever race! I’ve got a few months to work up to it, but it seems that each time I run, I am able to push myself a little further. Yesterday I did 2.5 miles (4K), a quarter of a mile longer than my previously longest run. I’ve maxed out my current route, and need to start looking at extending it. I’m still running slowly, but I am running.

I’ve been going to yoga for the last few months, usually just once a week, but today I switched up a class – from the 60-minute beginner foundation class to a 90-minute flow. It kicked my butt, in the best way imaginable. I learned a dozen new poses, and thanks to the patient girl next to me who was very deliberate in showing me what was going on with each new pose, I managed to feel pretty good about most of them. I’ve got a long way to go until I get to her point, but she (and others near me) were so encouraging that even when I was shaking or almost falling over, I was enjoying myself, and it felt good to push my body.

I’ve been dating, actively and proactively, and am enjoying the experience, without losing perspective.

I’m drinking more water and less coffee. I’m reading more. Going out more. Cooking more. Having people over. Making friends.

This is shaping up to be a wonderful year.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Charis permalink
    January 8, 2012 7:38 am

    yoga….. girl you got it going on! I even think about yoga and I start to shake.. Glad its shaping up to be a good year!

    • January 8, 2012 9:57 am

      Hahaha…definitely plenty of shaking going on. I get about 30 seconds into most poses and I’m shaking. The instructor of the beginner class I had been taking loved it – she would get all enthusiastic and tell us all, “Embrace the shakes! When you start feeling like jello is when you know it’s working!”

      Yesterday’s instructor was more fond of telling us, “Keep breathing. If you stop breathing, you will suffer. Suffering is optional. Most of the time.” He was pretty funny.

  2. Vivo4Vida permalink
    January 9, 2012 3:16 am

    “I’ve been dating, actively and proactively, and am enjoying the experience, without losing perspective.

    I’m drinking more water and less coffee. I’m reading more. Going out more. Cooking more. Having people over. Making friends.

    This is shaping up to be a wonderful year.”

    This makes me very happy for my friend.

Comments are like crack, and friends enable friends.

