Skip to content

Divorced!

October 26, 2011
tags: ,

It’s finished. I’m a free woman again.

My hearing was scheduled for 10:00am this morning, and I walked out of the courtroom at 10:29am with a final decree in my hand.

EX (finally able to say that!) husband did not show up. I am not surprised. When I got my summons in the mail, I confirmed with my lawyer and then email him to let him know that if he, as the defendant, did not come, it would be considered acceptance by default. As the petitioner, I needed to be there. Another reason why I chose to file instead of letting him do so – I trust myself to be responsible; I do not trust him to be.

After I emailed him, I never heard back (not that I had any expectation of it), so I wasn’t sure whether his laziness  (i.e. not come to court) or his distrust of me (i.e. come to court) would win out. Laziness it was. A friend had casually asked whether he was planning to attend and he told her that he hadn’t even read his court summons, so he didn’t even know what day the hearing was.

To me, that’s just plain stupid. Fortunately though, he is no longer my problem.

Never in my life did I expect to say the words, “I’m a divorced woman!” with exuberant joy, but I did this morning. I feel free, weight lifted from my shoulders, finally able to completely move forward and put all of this behind me.

Let Freedom ring, let the white dove sing
Let the whole world know that today is a
Day of reckoning
Let the weak be strong, let the right be wrong
Roll the stone away, Let the guilty pay, It’s
Independence Day

-Martina McBride

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Vivo4Vida permalink
    October 26, 2011 1:24 pm

    To use the same exclamation for both weddings and divorces sounds strange to me, but I’m either not well-read enough to know of another or there isn’t an appropriate word in the English language – Congratulations! Hooray! Por Fin!

    I am glad for you.

  2. Charis permalink
    October 27, 2011 3:56 pm

    😀

  3. October 30, 2011 1:38 am

    Yay! You are finally free (of him)! Congrats on being a free woman!

Comments are like crack, and friends enable friends.

