Skip to content

Outside my bubble

August 6, 2011

I am not a spontaneous person. Quite the opposite, really, I’m the kind of person who plans everything out, has backup plans in case anything might go wrong, and worries about the future way too much. I don’t take unnecessary risks, and if one becomes necessary, I build myself a safety net first. Related to this, in my opinion, is the fact that I am a wallflower. I’m much more comfortable in a corner somewhere with one or two people than being in the center of attention.

So this weekend, at a friend’s bachelorette party, it’s safe to say that I was out of my element.

Maybe it was the vodka shots and lemon drops everyone kept buying all of us. Maybe it was the fact that the music was so loud, and I actually knew a lot of the songs. Maybe it was that the rest of the girls there, none of whom I knew, were not restrained or quiet or shy. And maybe it was simply that I’m darn tired of feeling so freaking responsible all the time.

Whatever combination of events led up to it, the highlight of the evening was climbing on top of the bar with the rest of the bachelorette party and dancing, totally uninhibited. Completely outside of myself for a little while, giving in and just letting go and having fun, being totally ridiculous.

I texted a friend shortly thereafter, saying how “empowering” it felt to dance on a bar. I don’t think it was necessarily about the bar though, I think it was just the fact that I let myself live a little, consequences (of which there were realistically none) be damned, just this once.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Charis permalink
    August 6, 2011 8:16 pm

    Im just glad you had fun! its good to be spontaneous when you are usually a planner!

  2. Vivo4Vida permalink
    August 7, 2011 12:13 am

    Good.

Comments are like crack, and friends enable friends.

