Skip to content

Locks

April 20, 2011
tags:

1.5 hours

$205.64

That’s what it takes to have the locks changed on three doors. That’s what it takes to guarantee peace of mind that he can’t come here when he gets back into town tomorrow, while I’m at work, and do laundry, take a shower, raid my fridge, or otherwise invade my life.

Steve the Lock Doctor is a really nice guy though. If you ever need a locksmith in DC, let me know – I’ll give you his number.

In related news, I now know a lot more about locks. Did you know that a double keyed deadbolt has 2 cylinders, and therefore costs twice as much to re-key? Did you know that you can take apart a lock and rearrange the tumblers inside to fit a different key? (It’s called re-keying, and it’s significantly cheaper than replacing the whole lock.) Did you know that in the 1970s deadbolt lock sizes were standardized to 1.125 (that’s 1/8th) inches in diameter, but that before that, 1.5 inch diameter was common? Apparently my front door is from the 70s or earlier, while my back door is probably younger than I am.

Yep, big day. Taking control of a small but significant piece of my life.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Charis permalink
    April 20, 2011 11:27 am

    you should become a lock smith 4 sure!

    Feels good to take control doesnt it? I think so 🙂

    • April 20, 2011 2:51 pm

      It definitely feels good to take control! It’s an important step in my life right now, I think.

Comments are like crack, and friends enable friends.

